Enable Image Transfer to USB Drive

The DigiSnap Pro can transfer images from the camera to a USB storage device such as a flash drive or portable hard drive. This feature is labeled "Local Storage" or "Local Image Storage" in the configuration software.

When images are transferred, they are placed into folders by date and renamed by date and time. This date and time comes from the timestamp set by the camera, so if the times look off, check your camera time. The timestamp format is ISO8601, which allows sorting the filenames by date and time: YYYYMMDD/YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS.[JPG|CR2|NEF]

Image Storage Modes

Early versions through DSPC V94

There are six image storage modes:

  • Images are not sent to this location (feature is disabled)
  • Images are sent when convenient (when network hardware is turned on for any other reason)
  • Images are sent when each picture is taken
  • Images are sent after each 30 pictures are taken
  • Images are sent nightly at midnight
  • Images are sent each Sunday at midnight

There are tradeoffs to the various modes. Transferring more frequently will use more battery power, but increases the likelihood that recent images will have already been transferred when you go to swap USB drives. For local storage mode, the most power-efficient setting will be to leave the feature disabled or match the Remote Storage setting.

Versions V112+

Firmware versions after V112 simplify the local storage mode selection by reducing the number of options. In V112+, the options are:

  • Never send images to local USB storage
  • Local USB storage enabled
When enabled, a transfer to USB storage will be triggered after any of the following events:
  • After 25 pictures are taken
  • Every day, at hour configured in the daily hour setting
  • Immediately after any scheduled remote transfer

Delete After Transfer

In addition to the mode, you have the option to delete images from the camera after successful transfer. Enabling this feature allows the camera to shoot perpetually, because its SD card will not fill up. Enabling this feature saves a significant amount of battery life, because there will be fewer images on the camera for the DigiSnap Pro to analyze when determining what to transfer.

Supported Devices

Any USB Mass Storage device should work with this feature, assuming it can be powered by the DigiSnap Pro. We recommend choosing a drive that is powered over USB. Drives that require a mains connection for power are not recommended, but can sometimes be supported with a custom power cable.

The drive should be formatted with one of the following filesystems:

  • FAT32
  • ExFAT
  • NTFS
  • ext2, ext3, ext4

Setup

Prerequisites

Plug the formatted USB drive into one of the DigiSnap Pro's USB ports.

Android App

  1. Open the app and connect to your DigiSnap Pro.
  2. Tap Image Transfer Settings.
  3. Find the label Local Storage Mode
  4. Adjust the drop down to the desired mode.

Optional: Set Images to Delete After Transfer

  1. On the Network Settings page, scroll all the way to bottom Network Hardware section.
  2. Next to the label Delete images after transfer, click the Yes or No button.

If both local storage and remote storage are enabled, images will only be deleted from the camera after successful transfer to both locations.

Debug Module

  1. Setup the Debug Module.
  2. Press T to enter the CTRLM sub-menu.
  3. The current settings will print. You can find the current Local Image Storage Mode setting near the bottom of the page.
  4. If you want to change to another setting,
    1. Type S for set parameter
    2. Then 19 for Local Storage Mode.
    3. Enter a number 0 through 5 to set the mode.

Optional: Set Images to Delete After Transfer

  1. Press N to enter the NCM sub-menu.
  2. It will print the current settings. Under Image Storage State, look for the parameter Purge Enabled.
    1. Purge Enabled 1 means images will delete after transfer.
    2. Purge Enabled 0 means images will remain on the camera.
  3. Enable Purge
    1. Type S for set parameter
    2. Type 5 for Image Purge after transfer
    3. Type 1 to delete images from the camera after transfer, or 0 to leave them on the camera

If both local storage and remote storage are enabled, images will only be deleted from the camera after successful transfer to both locations.